Ben Y and the Ghost in the Machine: The Kids Under the Stairs (Hardcover)
 
作者: K. a. Holt 
出版社: Chronicle Books
書城編號: 19178086

原價: HK$180.00
現售: HK$171 節省: HK$9

購買此書 10本或以上 9折, 60本或以上 8折

* 購買後立即進貨, 約需 18-25 天 *

 
 
出版日期: 2021/09/28
ISBN-10: 145218321X
ISBN-13: 9781452183213
 
>> 相關電子書
 

 
商品簡介
 
George meets Ms. Bixby's Last Day in this inspiring, heartfelt novel-in-verse, the second in a new series from bestselling author K.A. Holt.

This second book in a new series by K.A. Holt will appeal to fans of House Arrest, Rhyme Schemer, and Knockout, in addition to fans of Jason Reynolds's Track series.

Ben Y's just about had it with school. Every corner she turns, she's being called Benita, getting Dress Coded by Mr. Mann for some supposedly inappropriate item of clothing, or running into the ineffable, inescapable, indefinable Ace--who makes her feel weird, weirdly seen, and strangely at peace, all at once. Even her best buds--Ben B, Jordan J, and Javier; the kids under the stairs--are all far too content following the rules and making their school newspaper under the attentive direction of their beloved teacher, Ms. J.

And home's no better. Last year, Ben Y's older brother died, and the family is still learning how to cope--if by coping you mean coming home to cry at lunch, or secretly building a friendship bracelet empire, or obsessively visiting a chatroom to talk to Benicio's ghost. When Benito suddenly starts typing back, Ben Y must act. But what happens when those very actions make Ben Y's deepest secrets impossible to hide?

Readers will easily identify with the variety of funny, authentic lovable characters--not to mention the emphasis on a Minecraft-like game and fun visuals like online chats and doodles. Parents, kids, educators and librarians alike will love the way the book celebrates all the different ways to be smart--and recognizes all the different ways it's hard to be a kid.

With a lovable cast of characters and raw, authentic emotion, this heartwarming, laugh-out-loud novel-in-verse tells an honest story about friendship, family, and personal identity that celebrates different types of intelligence and shows how every kid deserves to become their own divergent self.

NEW UNDERSTANDING OF IDENTITY: The main character in this book is struggling to figure out how she defines herself, both on the inside and to others. It's a struggle many young readers will recognize from their own experiences.

FRIENDSHIP ISSUES: This book navigates the difficulty of changing friendships, particularly when a new friend joins the group. It's an issue nearly every kid goes through in middle school, and will ring authentic to all young readers.

POPULAR AUTHOR: K.A. Holt's books have been nominated for awards in over 30 states. She is popular on the school speaking circuit and presents keynote speeches throughout the year and all over the world, making her a trusted name and a favorite for middle grade readers.

PERFECT FOR RELUCTANT READERS: Fewer words on each page make this book engaging and approachable for all different types of readers. The characters in the book also struggle with reading, but they are not shamed or looked down on for it, so readers with similar difficulties will feel understood.

NEWSPAPER THEME: The kids in this story work on their school newspaper, turning their tech skills into something their teachers approve of--and something that allows them to stand up for what they believe in.

MINECRAFT APPEAL: The characters in the book play Sandbox, which readers will instantly recognize as a fictionalized version of the immensely popular Minecraft, a game with over 74 million monthly players. Playing Sandbox is depicted as both cool and educational, which will uplift rather than shame young readers for playing video games, and inspire parents, teachers, and librarians to consider non-traditional approaches to traditional school.

Perfect for:

- Fans and players of Minecraft and other video games
- Reluctant readers
- Fans of Kari Holt
- Educators

K. a. Holt 作者作品表

eBook: Red Moon Rising (DRM EPUB)
eBook: Mike Stellar: Nerves of Steel (DRM EPUB)

January Best Sellers 同類商品


Jujutsu Kaisen Vol 1 (paperback)

Refrigerant Log Book: Green cover (Paperback)

Ghost (Reprint) (paperback)

Chainsaw Man, Vol. 5, Volume 5 (Paperback)

American Predator: Dr. Anthony Fauci and Big Pharma's Global War on Democracy, Humanity, and Public Health (Hardcover)

The Year of Magical Thinking (paperback)

Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo (Hardcover)

Invisible (Hardcover)

Finishing Well: Establishing a Lasting Legacy (Paperback)

Living and Leading Well: Navigating Mid-Life Ministry (Paperback)

And Then There Were None

Her Hidden Genius (Hardcover)

Bushcraft 101 (Paperback)

A Leader's Legacy (Hardcover)

Fundamentals of Project Management (Paperback)

The Great Rat Rally (Geronimo Stilton Graphic Novel #3), Volume 3 (Hardcover)

Anthem (Hardcover)

The Horsewoman (Hardcover)

Best of DuBois: The Souls of Black Folk and Strivings of the Negro People (Paperback)

The Starless Crown (Hardcover)

還有... [顯示所有書籍]

* 以上資料僅供參考之用, 香港書城並不保證以上資料的準確性及完整性。
* 如送貨地址在香港以外, 當書籍/產品入口時, 顧客須自行繳付入口關稅和其他入口銷售稅項。

 

 

 

  我的賬戶 |  購物車 |  出版社 |  團購優惠
加入供應商 |  廣告刊登 |  公司簡介

香港書城 版權所有 私隱政策聲明

顯示模式: 電腦版 (改為: 手機版)